S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   UK & Ireland S2000 Community (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/uk-ireland-s2000-community-25/)
-   -   New owner - finally! Questions and parts recommendations.. (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/uk-ireland-s2000-community-25/new-owner-finally-questions-parts-recommendations-1184672/)

tommys2k? 05-13-2018 12:37 PM

New owner - finally! Questions and parts recommendations..

Hi all,

At long last, I'm chuffed with my recent purchase. 2001 ap1 with some nice modifications!

First time I've ever driven a Honda / VTEC when I test drove it haha! Awesome noises were made. Consider it sold! I will try and get some photos up soon.

I noticed a few little things with the car so just wanted to pick your brains on these;

1. Small leak on the back of the clutch pedal. Not enough to cause dripping, just noticed it was wet/oily. I'm totally new to these cars - is this just the clutch slave cylinder? What's the rough cost of replacement and best parts website to get decent bits? Tegiwa?

(Clutch pedal has a slight buzz to it - have read about this before, so hope that can be normal)

2. Front brake discs! The car recently had new discs and pads all round. (MTEC and Ferrodo) However, braking from high speed / hard they feel warped. Vibration can be felt through brake pedal due to this. (Believe previous owner may have slightly overheated them on his first trackday)

Would this just be a simple case of putting some new front discs on and hoping for the best? Or could I try getting them machined slightly down? Not heard of that before but as they are very recent, wondered if it's possible?

3. The TCT on the car looks relatively old, should these be done for preventative maintenance...?

4. Finally, the belts at the front of the engine don't look very recent, so I'd like to get these done. Are these just power steering / alternator belts? Best to buy OEM or parts recommendation for these? Ha!