UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

O2 Sensor Values

Old 09-20-2012, 04:50 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default O2 Sensor Values

I'm trying to get to the bottom of my annoying hesitation/kangaroo problem so purchased an OBD2 display (Ultragauge My link) so I could see what the sensors were doing.

The primary o2 probe values seem to jump all over the show compared to the secondary, but as I'm no expert I'm not sure how to interpret the data

Obviously, when I'm observing these changes the running conditions are stable, stable revs, load etc.

It jumps around anything from 0.000v to 0.915v then back to 0.215v for example just at a steady idle.

Am I correct in thinking that when in 'closed loop' mode the engine fuleling is based on the feedback from this sensor? (amongst others of course). Wondering if it's the culprit I'm looking for.

Any help welcome!

nb: Heatsoak, although a real problem for S2000's is not the cause here as it happens on the way to work after 5 mins, when the intake temp is cold.
Old 09-20-2012, 04:54 AM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

In partial throttle yes should jump around, wot no.
Old 09-20-2012, 05:30 AM

Originally Posted by s2konroids
Thanks s2konroids, but if I could just pick your brains a bit more...

How about when at a steady idle? I thought that 0.2v is lean, but 0.8 is rich so is my ECU 'hunting' to find the pefect mix all the time and failing miserably?
I know I'm probably a muppet but surely if conditions are stable the reading shouldn't vary wildly.

Cheers
Old 09-20-2012, 06:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

just had mine diagnosed as faulty[now fixed],the vehicle electrician showed me a picture of how the sensor should work on the oscilloscope.it should fluctuate between 0.1v and 0.9v at regular intervals[basically up and down between those two values].
Old 09-20-2012, 06:25 AM