UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

S2000 queries - at serious thinking stage..

Old 02-18-2002, 03:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default S2000 queries - at serious thinking stage..

Hi folks,

First post here - and I don't have an S2000 - at least not yet. Hence the reason for this one..apologies if it's a question you've seen too many times but I'd appreciate your (unbiased) thoughts!

I've been running 2-seaters on and off for a few years - nowadays as a 2nd car - the current one is an MX5 1.8i (Mk2). I like its handling interactivity and value but as I also love Hondas I like the S2000. I've driven a few now, albeit on dry smooth roads and am considering changing the MX.

The main issue (apart from the 20k+ asking price, even for s/h ones up here) is what's it like on wet, bumpy roads? Most of the roads I use for fun are to the south of Glasgow - usually B, or occasionally A road - usually pretty undulating. One of the best is a bit rough in places (not broken - more the underlying surface changes camber & direction every 10-20m) and quite often wet! I hasten to add I don't push it when the road conditions get slippery - it's more about how much confidence I can have in cooler, wet conditions. The MX is usually OK on these as its suspension has enough compliance plus its limits aren't too high and when it does go it's fairly controllable.

I've read varying reports about the S2000 being more suitable for smoother roads to wonder about this - is it going to get upset by any of this? Any bump steer issues? I've also had an Elan (fwd) before that which again had a lot of compliance built into it - so fine on these surfaces.