Upper Mid-West S2000 Owners Members from the upper mid-west including Michigan, Illinios, Indiana, and Wisconsin

IL resident buying car in WI

Old 05-27-2009, 08:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default IL resident buying car in WI

So there is a car in Wisconsin I am considering buying. I am an Illinois resident. How does this whole procedure work with getting the car home, transferring plates, titled in IL, etc.
Old 05-27-2009, 08:22 AM

Bill of sale is your friend. You'll have to take it to DMV to get the license and re-title in IL though.

Depending upon how far you will be in WI, the drive home could get interesting. Perhaps you can time your purchase to coincide with DMV hours (e.g. drive the car straight to a DMV facility and take care of the titling and all that right then and there/same day)?
Old 05-27-2009, 08:29 AM

Correct procedure for buying any car is to go to DMV with the VIN, maybe other info, but I think it is just VIN and get a TEMP plate for it. It is good for 3 days.

Then you can drive the car home legally. I have driven numerous cars home with no plates, but I have gotten a warning before, and then I drove a car with the incorrect plates on it and got a ticket for failure to register vehicle, which is a $75 non moving violation. So really no big deal, just $75 bucks down the drain haha.

But like Ty said, just get the title and take it to DMV in IL. No different than buying an IL car.

Old 05-27-2009, 08:35 AM

Oh and just an FYI for other states:

I am sure everyone is familiar with how in IL, if you have a lien on you car (if you have a loan) as in the bank owns it or someone else, they keep your title.

In some other states, this is not always the case. I bought a car in Missouri and I got the title from the owner. Then in small writing it said something like: Title is held by the Vehicle owner, no matter if their is a Lien on it or not.