Wheels and Tires Discussion about wheels and tires for the S2000.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacement Tires for AP1

Old 08-09-2017, 09:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacement Tires for AP1

Newbie here.

What are the best aftermarket tires for traction, ride quality, and quietness for the AP1? Stock wheels.

My tech says there are not many options for this particular size fitment and wants to sell me Michelin Pilot AS3s, but their treadwear rating is 500. I'm thinking they won't stick too well for the (very) occasional auto-cross.
Old 08-09-2017, 08:56 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

firestone firehawk indy500
Old 08-10-2017, 01:50 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by Willingtorev
Newbie here.

What are the best aftermarket tires for traction, ride quality, and quietness for the AP1? Stock wheels.

My tech says there are not many options for this particular size fitment and wants to sell me Michelin Pilot AS3s, but their treadwear rating is 500. I'm thinking they won't stick too well for the (very) occasional auto-cross.
I really like my Hankook v12's, they make stock size and they seem to last me about two summers. I have bought two sets so far since I have owned my s2000.
______
Old 08-10-2017, 03:43 AM

Received 256 Likes on 219 Posts

I think that the new Continental Extremecontact Sport tires might be available in ap1 16" sizes. Not sure. You might want to check that out as an option.

You might also give some thought to moving to ap2 wheels. Some folks prefer the 17" performance and greater tire availability.

Last edited by rpg51; 08-10-2017 at 04:15 AM.
Old 08-10-2017, 04:23 AM

Received 124 Likes on 101 Posts

Originally Posted by Willingtorev
Newbie here.