S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Snap oversteer

Old 01-15-2010, 02:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Snap oversteer

Ok, I've spent an hour or so trawling through older threads and it would appear that most think that snap oversteer is the preserve of poor drivers or is just a myth.

I'm relatively new to the S (3 months) and my previous car of 4 years was a Miata NA 1.6 with a 15 PSI turbo conversion, bigger sway bars, Tein coilovers, Toyo R888's on 15" rims and a retrofitted Torsen Type I diff.

During 4 years of ownership of the Miata I only experienced snap oversteer the once and it happened at 20mph or so and, most notably after I'd just fitted the Torsen and the surface was damp with cracked rear tyres (with good tread depth) Snap oversteer in that situation resulted in a 180 degree spin that today I honestly can't remember any of it - it really was that sudden.

My reason for bringing up this subject is that in the UK over the past month or so the weather has been either very wet, icy, snow or whatever. In the the short time I've owned the S I can count on both hands the number of cars that have been written off, and that is of those that contribute to the UK sub forum of S2ki.

In all cases the rear has broken loose in a straight line and at moderate speeds. All have have good tread depth on the rear tyres and only one was in VTEC (1st gear) at the time the rear decided to give way. All bar 1 were owners with less that 6 months ownership of the S, but the common and widely used explanation is that they 'were a passenger'

My view is that the characteristics of the torsen and the way it apportions the torque between the rear wheels when it detects slip is the main contributor to the cars behaviour especially in wet conditions.

This is my definition of snap oversteer;
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ECo60jFqKFQ [/media]