S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

S2000 Caught fire! :@

Old 02-14-2011, 03:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile S2000 Caught fire! :@

Hello All!!!

Im a newbie to the s2000 forum,

Bought an AP1 3 weeks ago, needed a service so had this done by a local garage which are very respectable in the area, 35miles after an oil and filter change I was entering a dual carriage way at 8k rpm and suddenly smoke every where!!

I stopped the car within 10secs and the car was on fire! Apparently the oil filter had spewed out oil onto the exhaust manifold!

So..

I had the s2k towed to the garage which was luckily only a few miles away at the time, not to much dammage other than burnt HT leads and windscreen was jet tubing, the fire was put down to a "trapped oil filter" on installation of the part. So they replaced it and check the whole engine over, also a free major service and refund of the oil and filter change etc..

Picked the car up! Next day I had exactly the same problem again!! bloody pi55ed off this time! This was entering a dual carriage way again at near to 9k rpm and it blew!! Had the garage come and collect the car and take back to the garage.

This morning they have looked at it and said it looks to be either the oil filter giving way (Faulty part) (Part number: DMFOC115) which they ordered from Marland? apparently this company supplies Honda with the filters :S, OR to much pressure blowing the oil filter?? Now they have ordered the filter from HONDA UK. I just wondered what I need to ensure this garage needs to do for this NOT to happen again..

I did stop the car both times quickly and there was enough oil left in the engine despite the explosion of oil over the engine bay!! Do I need to be getting them to supply me with any sort of warranty?

Pictures to follow of the 2nd break down!!!!

Cheers

Jonny