S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

DIY fender roll. Looks OEM, no harm done.

Old 05-19-2012, 05:32 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default DIY fender roll. Looks OEM, no harm done.

Well I've taken a 4 day vacation and it looks like I'll be spending it all in the garage. No worries though, as the money I'll save by staying at home will pay for all the toys I bought yesterday as well as the speeding ticket I got coming back from Fry's..

So, to preface all of this, my car is filthy in these pictures. It's been raining the past few weekends here in Austin, and of course washing your car is the "Texas rain dance." So please forgive me.

I also want to say that this was my first fender roll, and I've been on the fence about doing it since I always see pictures of some horribly messed up fenders with wavy lines and jacked up paint. I'm by no means an expert, and I had no idea how this was going to turn out, but I took pictures along the way. I know I'm not re-inventing the wheel here, but I'm pretty cowardly when it comes to things like this and I feel a lot better when I have DIY's to follow with pics. I'm completely open to suggestions, but hopefully someone can benefit from this.

Tools required:
Heat gun or blow dryer. I picked up a 40 dollar heat gun from Fry's.
Fender roller. I borrowed one from a local S owner for 20 bucks.
Box cutter
Sharpie
Dremel
Water (to stay hydrated)
At least an entire free day. 2 days preferred.
Jack stands
A jack
Spare bolts and nuts
A drill and a drill bit
Balls of steel

So my reason for this mod was to keep my tires from being chewed to pieces, as well as the fenders.