Γενικά Θέματα εκτός S2000 For all Off Topic posts

For my Greek Friends. I have a question about unclaimed land

Old 07-09-2012, 09:54 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default For my Greek Friends. I have a question about unclaimed land

Hello Fellow Greek S2k owners!

I had a question that maybe someone here could help with...

So, my background is Armenian and Greek. Mom is Greek, Dad is Armenian... Back in the early
part of the 1900's my mothers side of the family had to leave the country because of the
issues going on with the land, and was forced into moving into Turkey and changing their last name... (I dont
know the full details, but that is the just of it)

Anyways, Papou and Yaiya apparently owned a small piece of land on Gokceada and left it behind... This island used
to be called Imbroz or Imroz.

The thing is, I think this land is now owned by Turkey and it was swapped out between Greece and Turkey sometime.

My grandma threw away the deed because of all the BS crap that was going on back then and thought to herself she would
never be going back to Greece, so why keep it? (dumb, I know)

Anyways, is there a way we can go back and legally claim that land/ house back? It was way back in the early 1900's... so Im not
sure if we are even entitled to it anymore since its been so many years....
Old 07-09-2012, 10:11 AM
Banned

Wow, Started looking into this, and its so confusing!!!
Old 07-09-2012, 10:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I dont know if you can claim anything back but i know for sure that Imvros is Turkish now.
Old 07-09-2012, 10:24 AM
Community Organizer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hello my friend,

I really do not know the island called Imbroz or Imroz to help you out if now belongs to Greece with another name or to turkey. From my poor knowledge i really doubt you can claim anything now without any deed or probably witness that can testify for you about this.I am really sorry for that

Chris
Old 07-09-2012, 11:00 AM
Banned