Vancouver Island Vancouver Island S2000 Enthusiasts

New Island S2K Owner

Old 07-16-2011, 11:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Island S2K Owner

Hey everyone! Thought I would introduce myself. Name is Sean, I'm 24 and I'm new to the Honda/S2000 scene. Originally from the VW scene I've owned a couple golfs, an old rabbit, a corrado, and the latest was a '91 GTi. The corrado is a full-blown project car now, awaiting some well deserved attention, soon.

Quick story, I got in the accident with the GTi just about a year ago now (rear-ended and pushed into a truck ahead of me). Right after that I picked up a '96 Integra, fixed everything on it, bunch of maintenance, and added some extras. It was clean as hell, but wasn't happy with it. Ended up picking up this S2000.

Day or 2 after I bought it.

Drove it around, excited to have this awesome summer car. Just keeping it clean and going over everything, prioritizing the list of "to-dos", and a week and a half later, clutch slippage... Pulled it out, sure enough clutch was done so I replaced everything. Lightened flywheel, both bearings, and ACT Street Clutch kit. Tossed the trans back in, ran the break-in period (2 days of my normal driving. I'm commuting from Nanaimo to Victoria until we move down in September).

Clutch kit going in.

After that, drove good, loved the feel of the new clutch and plans were to do some maintenance stuff and find some suspension. Until 2 weeks later...
Drove into work and as I was backing into my spot, she locked up. Pretty choked but I dropped the diff fluid and trans fluid, both pretty dirty but no sparkles or chunks. Took the drive shaft out and spun the diff by hand, didn't lock. Spun the trans by hand... lock....

Trans out... again.