Carolinas A Better Place to Be

Potential buyer - I want me some S2K

Old 06-28-2015, 06:34 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Potential buyer - I want me some S2K

S2Kers,

My name is Matt, and I am new to western NC. I'm originally from PA, and have coveted the S2000 ownership experience since I was in high school. Living in PA brought lots of snow, which of course was not the best environment for lightweight, RWD sports car ownership. So, I did the natural thing for car nuts in snowy landscapes do and bought a new 2011 Subaru WRX hatchback in WRB. The car has been all kinds of awesome, and a great daily driver for the past 4-5 years. Now that I'm in the Carolinas, I'm getting the itch to buy the car I've always wanted but could never rationalize.

That being said, how do you guys get along in the winter? Are you able to use summer tires all year round, or would you recommend getting a set of snows? Also, I've found an '04 at a dealership near where I'm at, is it worth holding out for an 06-09 for VSA? I have very little experience with RWD, and have heard/read that these cars can be a handful in the rain. Does anyone ever feel unsafe in the S2K? The lack of side airbags worries me a little, especially coming out of the Subaru, which have proven over time to be very safely constructed vehicles.

Any buying advice would be appreciated as well. Dealer vs. Private Sale, specific model advice(I'd like an AP2), etc etc.

Thanks,
Matt
Old 06-28-2015, 11:33 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I don't think VSA is the reason I'd go for a late model AP2. I lost mine when I put in an aftermarket wheel and never cared enough to bring it back, not to mention I used my for a DD and never had a problem in rain, even with 6-7 degrees camber in the rear. Only became a problem when my tires were showing cords and then it definitely was scooting around.