Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Spoon ECU Gains??

#1 User is offline   HiRpmVTEC 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 573
  • Joined: 11-August 06
  • Location:boca raton
  • Country: United States

Posted 23 August 2006 - 09:20 AM

Retails for $1800!! What kind of gains can I expect? Dont see much review on this anywhere. I just put it on my car last night, bought it used and actually does seem to feel quicker, just wondering if anyone has any solid numbers. Thats my only mod, next is t1r tesp pipe..
Posted Image

#2 User is offline   curiouz_G 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 1,422
  • Joined: 29-January 06
  • Country: United States

Posted 23 August 2006 - 08:21 PM

holy crap, you paid 1800 for a ecu? have you gotten it tuned? if not then it might actually be hurting your car. but if its anything like Greddy Ultimate emanage, get it tuned and you'll see more than what people usually get with the usual I/E/H/DP combo

#3 User is offline   F20_C 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: 04-April 05
  • Country: United States

Posted 23 August 2006 - 09:06 PM

Quote

holy crap, you paid 1800 for a ecu? have you gotten it tuned? if not then it might actually be hurting your car. but if its anything like Greddy Ultimate emanage, get it tuned and you'll see more than what people usually get with the usual I/E/H/DP combo

The Spoon ECM is not tunable. It's a tuned factory ECM. I think if you stick to Spoon parts for the I/H/E (Assuming Spoon tuned the ECM for its own parts) you should see some small gains. I think it mostly focuses on creating a smooth/responsive powerband with its parts.

Good luck :thumbup:
/Spoon/Cusco/AFE/Espelir/

#4 User is offline   HiRpmVTEC 

  • Topic Starter
  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 573
  • Joined: 11-August 06
  • Location:boca raton
  • Country: United States

Posted 23 August 2006 - 09:30 PM

Quote

The Spoon ECM is not tunable. It's a tuned factory ECM. I think if you stick to Spoon parts for the I/H/E (Assuming Spoon tuned the ECM for its own parts) you should see some small gains. I think it mostly focuses on creating a smooth/responsive powerband with its parts.

Good luck :thumbup:

Like he said. No I paid considerably less than that, bought it off a friend. Throws a check engine light though. Next mod is the t1r test pipe. I already removed the plastic wall in the intake box. Just wanted to see if anyone else is running this ecu. :thumbup:

#5 User is offline   224whpBERLINA 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 31-January 06
  • Country: United States

Posted 23 August 2006 - 10:40 PM

Quote

Like he said. No I paid considerably less than that, bought it off a friend. Throws a check engine light though. Next mod is the t1r test pipe. I already removed the plastic wall in the intake box. Just wanted to see if anyone else is running this ecu. :thumbup:

u sure did....good luck with it and you gotta buy the rest of my stuff
current mods: j's snorkel, spoon ecu, t1r testpipe, megan coilovers, oem front lip, oem rear deck lid spoiler, odyssey battery...
1/4 mile: 13.40 @ 104.4 mph(stock tires @ 42psi)
parts for sale: INLINE PRO manifold, tial 38mm wastegate, downpipe, t1r testpipe, and odyssey battery(P.M me)

#6 User is offline   F20_C 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: 04-April 05
  • Country: United States

Posted 24 August 2006 - 06:30 AM

AJ PwR stated that:

"1) Spoon ECU
I have dynoed on Spoon AP1's car with Spoon intake, Spoon header and N1 exhaust and there was 2whp from low to top. Once we switched the exhaust to the 70mm, it gained another 10whp. I don't have the plots cuz it was awhile back when I did this.

2) Mugen ECU
I have dynoed on JL9000 with Mugen intake, Mugen header and Amuse dual exhaust. Gains are 0whp at peak. There were about 15whp gained at 9k.The only thing changes was the A/F. Mugen has a constant curve staying at 13ish.

3) J's ECU vs Mugen
This dyno was done with s2kboy03. He has J's intake, J's header, T1R 63mm exhaust. From 3000-5600, Mugen makes about 2whp more over J's. J's VTEC engages at 5600rpm and they tried to remove the VTEC dip while Mugen VTEC engages at 5900-6000rpm. There were 14whp gained with J's from 5600-6000rpm. From 6000-8200rpm gains were the same. Peak power Mugen has 3whp over J's. At 9k Mugen made about 5whp over J's as well."


#7 User is offline   CarbonS2000 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 2,712
  • Joined: 09-August 06
  • Location:Long Island, NY
  • Country: United States

Posted 24 August 2006 - 07:30 AM

wow...looks like from f20 c's post...the ECU swap is a waste of money =-(
Posted Image

#8 User is offline   HiRpmVTEC 

  • Topic Starter
  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 573
  • Joined: 11-August 06
  • Location:boca raton
  • Country: United States

Posted 24 August 2006 - 10:38 AM

Quote

wow...looks like from f20 c's post...the ECU swap is a waste of money =-(

says he made a total of 12whp when he switched to the 70mm. i follow in the foot steps of the knowledgable so im not worried.

#9 User is offline   Lickermat 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 568
  • Joined: 09-August 05
  • Location:Darkest Suffolk

Posted 24 August 2006 - 10:57 AM

I run the Spoon ECU; the main noticeable gains are it pulls better across the range, better fuel MPG and the always 6k Vtec. The bottom end is better (more low down pull) and from 6k it keeps on going all the way to 9k (limiter is the same as stock)

You also start to see the benefits of the other moods , IHE + TB + Injectors ect the whole car becomes smoother and power is defiantly up across the range most noticeable from 6k, the build up to 6 k now comes in sooner with it starting at 5k. With the other mods you see the revs increase again at 7-8-9k depending on your mods.

The main advantage with the Jap ECU's is that you keep all the OEM sensors that the stock ECU has effectively Spoon have just modded the fuel map and lowered the Vtec point

I know that on the forum Dyno's are a measure of the "value for money" argument I

This post has been edited by Lickermat: 24 August 2006 - 10:59 AM

Posted Image

#10 User is offline   HiRpmVTEC 

  • Topic Starter
  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 573
  • Joined: 11-August 06
  • Location:boca raton
  • Country: United States

Posted 24 August 2006 - 02:08 PM

good to know. every little thing adds up in these cars

#11 User is offline   Stealth Operator 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 918
  • Joined: 01-May 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:33.87°S 151.21°E
  • Country: Australia
  • Interests:Classified

Posted 24 August 2006 - 02:53 PM

Actually JDM tuner ECUs have bypassed/disabled on all sensors, some very dangerous ones ala the Knock Sensor. The ratio goes Amuse > Mine's VX-ROM > J's Racing > Mugen > Spoon. Note that the usual big players are at the end because they started the very first release and all the base work for the rest. With a max power net of 20 ~ 10wbhp with I/H/E complimenting mods.

#12 User is offline   CarbonS2000 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 2,712
  • Joined: 09-August 06
  • Location:Long Island, NY
  • Country: United States

Posted 24 August 2006 - 03:07 PM

is there a way to see the break down of each manufacturer's ecu programming? See what they tuned in their ECU?

#13 User is offline   Lickermat 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 568
  • Joined: 09-August 05
  • Location:Darkest Suffolk

Posted 25 August 2006 - 02:42 AM

Quote

Actually JDM tuner ECUs have bypassed/disabled on all sensors, some very dangerous ones ala the Knock Sensor


This may be true and Im no expert but when my car was in for its serivce I had the guys plug in my ECU and they could see every readout /sensor as per the OEM ECU , hence my comments.

Infact they didnt believe me that it wasnt the stock one because of this as they believed that the ECU would come back with very little.

Either way its a great upgrade :)



#14 User is offline   HiRpmVTEC 

  • Topic Starter
  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 573
  • Joined: 11-August 06
  • Location:boca raton
  • Country: United States

Posted 25 August 2006 - 08:41 AM

Quote

This may be true and Im no expert but when my car was in for its serivce I had the guys plug in my ECU and they could see every readout /sensor as per the OEM ECU , hence my comments.

Infact they didnt believe me that it wasnt the stock one because of this as they believed that the ECU would come back with very little.

Either way its a great upgrade :)

Did yours also throw a check engine light?

#15 User is offline   Lickermat 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 568
  • Joined: 09-August 05
  • Location:Darkest Suffolk

Posted 25 August 2006 - 09:06 AM

Nope mine runs sweet, no issues I asked my dealer to plug in to look to make sure that it was all ok.

There is no reason why it should cause any issues; you do need to reset the ECU once fitted as with any ECU replacement.

:cool:

#16 User is offline   HiRpmVTEC 

  • Topic Starter
  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 573
  • Joined: 11-August 06
  • Location:boca raton
  • Country: United States

Posted 25 August 2006 - 09:25 AM

Hmm thats odd, my friend that sold it to me had a check engine light and i got it after about 2 minutes after install. I figure the ecu was automatically reset since it was unplugged.

#17 User is offline   Lickermat 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 568
  • Joined: 09-August 05
  • Location:Darkest Suffolk

Posted 25 August 2006 - 10:21 AM

No idea Y , there are a few of us in the UK with the ECU with no problems. Once you plug in the ECU then reset it so that it clears the learning. On first boot the car will idle high once reset it will all run as normal. Im no enginner but the engine light may be somthing else

:)

#18 User is offline   MB 

  • Group: UK Moderator
  • Posts: 32,425
  • Joined: 15-April 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sunshine Coast - England UK
  • Country: United Kingdom

Posted 25 August 2006 - 12:09 PM

Matt,

Most of these type of ECU's retain all of the OEM parts / chips etc - so very little is changed apart from the fuelling / timing parts of the map. So all your OBDII functions are untouched. Its just easier for them to sell you a whole ECU, rather than risk the reputation / liability issues of letting you replace a chip inside the ECU itself. (hence the exchange basis on most of them)

For this reason it will appear to a diagnostic tool / monitor as a stock ECU - because essentially it is.

Mugen does not utilise the OEM knock sensor - risky IMO.

MB

#19 User is offline   HiRpmVTEC 

  • Topic Starter
  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 573
  • Joined: 11-August 06
  • Location:boca raton
  • Country: United States

Posted 25 August 2006 - 03:07 PM

im told that the engine light is from no longer having an immbolizer. Perhaps thats why you dont have one since your in the UK, just like in japan they dont use one.

#20 User is offline   Stealth Operator 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 918
  • Joined: 01-May 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:33.87°S 151.21°E
  • Country: Australia
  • Interests:Classified

Posted 27 August 2006 - 08:48 PM

Immobilizer disabled does not activate a CEL ... And MB's comments on why they still produce read out is accurate. While disabled sensors are only applicable for true racing use, using such an ECU for any other application otherwise designed is a hazard for the returned performance increase.

#21 User is offline   MB 

  • Group: UK Moderator
  • Posts: 32,425
  • Joined: 15-April 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sunshine Coast - England UK
  • Country: United Kingdom

Posted 28 August 2006 - 04:01 AM

Yup, we have immobilisers here, so on the older Spoon ECU's you had to disable it using a wire into the ECU.

I think the CEL is caused by the Spoon ECU not using the secondary air pump....

MB

#22 User is offline   M6682 

  • Group: Guest
  • Posts: 434
  • Joined: 09-October 02
  • Location:Orlando
  • Country: United States

Posted 28 August 2006 - 01:27 PM

correct the check engine is for the immobilizer. I have a spoon ecu for sale if anyone wants it. PM me

Ads by Google   S2KI

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users