Έλληνες Ιδιοκτήτες S2000 / Greek S2000 Owners Official Forum of Greek S2000 Owners. Greek Lovers are in great passion with the S2000!

Photo Request

Old 12-28-2007, 08:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Photo Request

Ladies and Gentlemen;

Please bear with me here. For several months I have been thinking about asking for this on this forum. At first I felt it was too much of an imposition, but now feel I will regret it if I don't ask.

Many years ago (early 1970's) I was stationed in Greece with the US Army. As a career soldier, I can say without reservation, that it was the greatest assignment I ever had. Wonderful country, wonderful people, and my daughter was born there in Athens.... I have nothing but the fondest of memories.

At that time I lived at 24 Dimitrakopoulou, in either Voula (or Anno Voula), south of Athens near Glyfada and Vouliagmeni. At that time the house was a single story home. In those days this was unusual, as many had the landlords living either upstairs, or downstairs. I'm positive it will have been built onto.

If anyone could somehow take a current photograph and post it here (or PM) it would be greatly appreciated. It certainly doesn't have to be anything more than the front of the house, but I'll be interested in anything.

Let me apologize if I've spelled any of the Greek streets or cities wrong. Let us hope Yahoo Maps is our friend.

And I say to you all, in advance: Efharisto poli.

Jerald Porter
Justin, Texas
Old 12-28-2007, 08:15 AM

This is the place?
Old 12-28-2007, 11:50 AM

patriot_S2K,

Well, it certainly seems to be the street, for sure. Obviously, after 35 years, much has changed. This was a popular and fast growing area, even when I was there.

I have used several map sources, both topo and satellite, in an attempt to zoom into the address, but have had no luck. In those days, there was a quite modern and unusually styled house across and up the street. Who knows if any of these buildings are still there?