Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Designing a sports car

Old 09-20-2011, 08:17 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Designing a sports car

Hello members,
I am an Industrial Designer, to make the story short I have an opportunity to design a car for a project. This project calls for an affordable sports car. I have the option of creating something entirely new or create something new for a revived model. What I have in mind is either a coupe version of the S2000 something like the S600 option and near the same dimensions or weight(as much as possible)or a Beat with sports car attributes. I have less than 30 weeks to complete this project, among many other projects I need to do. I am currently deep into researching and I figure crowd sourcing is a good way to get information and input fast. What would you all be most interested in purchasing, if said vehicle was in production? (Note: there is no intention of literally building or producing said vehicle, said vehicle needs to be designed and brought as close to manufacturability as possible. This process is a design exercise that includes plan views)The final concept will be modeled in 3-D software, and a clay model will be produced.
Input in all aspects of designing a vehicle is welcomed, I am especially looking for aerodynamic engineers and or transportation designer who may be willing to act as a consultant if necessary. Anybody willing to loan time, facilities, or consultants to students would be immensely appreciated.
Edited to summarize and clarify.
Old 09-20-2011, 08:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts