Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Viper is not the car I thought it was

Old 04-17-2012, 04:47 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Viper is not the car I thought it was

Well like most guy's i've always loved the look of the viper. It's just one of those cars that everybody instantly recognizes and you just can help but stare at it. I'm a professional auto tech at a private shop so I get the privelege of driving most everything made as part of my job. Today a customer brought in a 06 srt-10 viper for us to check out. It was making some strange noises and our local dodge dealer had told him the tranny was in need of a rebuild. The car has only 14,000 miles so I was of course hightly suspect of this diagnosis. Anyway with the owners permission I took the car out for a drive and proceded to have my thoughts of Viper superiority dashed. What a pile of shit.
It shook and rattled like an old man when I started it. As I pulled out of the shop I was honestly in shock about how poorly the car ran and drove. It seemed as though the throttle was connected with a worn out linkage as small throttle inputs did nothing. You had to really push the pedal to get any response. It would then surge forward with little warning. I can see why they have there reputation as killers, it would be very easy for it to get away from you.