Carolinas A Better Place to Be

Place to Live?

Old 02-24-2007, 08:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Place to Live?

So my wife and I have been thinking of moving out of CT. We're playing with the idea of moving to North Carolina. What are some areas that we should consider moving to? We both want to be in a neighborhood outside of a city (place to raise kids). Neither one of us has been outside of the airport, but have heard good things. I'm a teacher and my wife is a therapist, so jobs would be a must. Looking for a nice neighborhood with reasonable housing pricing. We're thinking of taking a visit this summer and looking around. What areas, towns should be looking at? Any kind of additional advice would be must appreciated.
Old 02-24-2007, 08:26 AM

East Lee st in Greensboro is a pretty posh hood. Also, Waughtown st in Winston Salem is bangin.
Old 02-24-2007, 08:41 AM

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

I would research Cary NC. Its in the top 10 cities (or towns) to live in the US.
Old 02-24-2007, 08:55 AM

Received 196 Likes on 136 Posts

It depends on what area you want to live and how close you want to be to the "big city". Salisbury is becoming nice as a satellite city to Charlotte since Charlotte is so big anymore, but even living in Charlotte (inside the beltline) is actually really nice (Southpark area, South Charlotte between Park Rd, Providence, Fairview, Pineville-Matthews). Concord is nice and between Charlotte and Salisbury. Charlotte has a ton of golf and a TPC.

Greensboro is nice because its 1.5 hours from Charlotte and Raleigh and is on 85 between the two. Its a small big city with no real traffic, yet has 6 major colleges and lots of arts. The NCAA tourny is frequently held in Grensboro, and there's the Chrysler classic golf tourny.

Asheville is a nice small city, up in the mountains and a couple hours from Charlotte and Winston-Salem, and is growing in popularity.