S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Excellent and Inexpensive Soundproofing for S2000

Old 12-11-2004, 12:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Excellent and Inexpensive Soundproofing for S2000

I am a daily driver of MY04 and part of my commute includes a stretch of road that has cold rolled asphalt that was driving me crazy with road noise. I did a lot of reading and took at look at what others have done to try to quiet their cars and came across QuietCar's Quietcoat. It is a liquid sound deadener that is a new hi-technology viscoelastic polymer that the company claimed is much more efficient and effective than Dynamat or other simular products. As a liquid it is also easier to apply. I was sceptical, but also intriged and thought that I could try a portion of the car to get an idea on how well it worked without breaking the bank to do so (1 gallon is $72.90 delivered).

Prior to purchase I E-mailed the company to ask a few questions. The website is quite good and the sales staff responded to my questions via e-mail with 24hrs. I followed up with a phone call where I got a voice mailbox. The rep called me back withing 6 hrs. and answered the rest of my questions.

I just bought 1 gallon to do the trunk of my S2000, put 3 coats on as recommended and used a little over a 1/2 gallon. It has made a dramatic difference. Initially the results were very acceptable, however it continued to improve over about a 10 day period and the difference is simply amazing. In fact, while on a normal surfaced road wind noise has replaced the road noise as the main irritant. I have decided to also coat the doors (to hopefully improve speaker response as well as also quieting the cab from road noise), and if I get the itch, eventually I'm going to pull out the seats and carpet and do the floor boards as well, however, it is a weekend job that I don't have time to do right now.