S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Revalved KONI singles - report from A Stock

Old 04-01-2007, 05:54 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Revalved KONI singles - report from A Stock

All -

There's been a lot of discussion here and elsewhere about KONI shocks for A Stock autocross use. When it came to light that I pulled the trigger on a revalved set for my car, there was some interest in a report back. So, here it is.

Disclaimer
I am not a supsension engineer. I am not all that good a chassis guy either. I'm the sort who looks around and finds what's working for other people, and I go with that. My level of experience is also very much weighted towards both track days and door to door racing, in Honda Challenge (Integra GS-R with revalved Konis), SCCA ITC (Civic with revalved Konis), and SCCA ITA (Miata with revalved Konis). So, I've driven a lot of cars with revalved Konis, and they've always worked well for me, so basically that's why I gave this a shot. Oh, I also don't happen to have the money for exotica like Motons.

Background
I should point out that while I used to autocross regularly, it's been a lot of years - probably six or seven. All of that in a DSP Integra GS-R that eventually became much more a track car. I'm certainly not a hack, but a top flight national autocrosser I am not.

Today's was my first autocross with the car "finished," with an alignment, the Konis, and 245/275 Hoosier A6s. I knew going in that the learning curve was going to be steep, and I'd need to do a lot of adjusting to learn the car. This turned out to be very true.