Introductions Make your introductions to the S2000 owner community. Discussions and comments from new and future S2000 owners. You will get a warm welcome, friendly and helpful advice. The 'Start Button' of the forums.

New S2K owner here! Need some quick help

Old 06-04-2017, 01:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New S2K owner here! Need some quick help

Hi All, I am new to Honda in general. Former Audi/VW driver but wanted to get into something new and different and I have been eying the S2000 for years since I was in high school.
Formerly I was always about practicality (coming from Chicago) and needed a FWD/AWD car for winters and a bit more storage space ruling out the S2K. I am now finally in a position where I can have a 3rd fun car and picked up a (new to me) 2002 SPA Yellow S2000. (Initial photos not so good. Will post up more once I get the car up to standard for me .

Initial driving impressions, I could not be happier with the way it drives. Everything in the engine bay seems to be perfectly maintained and drives very nice.
I have been browsing the forums a lot lately and feel I found a fairly good car that was well maintained. However my ignorance in what to look for in one of these cars made me overlook something I was not even aware of. Everything looked good until I started reading abouat water issues in the S2K. I went out and looked in my trunk and all looked fine until I pulled everything out and there was a puddle of water below the Jack kit. Further pulling out the Trim revealed this. Did I get myself in over my head or are there any fairly easier fixes for this?

Hard to see but the rust went through the pan and I am debating if I should replace or if there is an easy way to "rig" it just to make it stop from spreading further. (Some type of Asphaltene or Hydrophobic coating comes to mind?)