JDM Tuning Expert advice and discussion on JDM tuning for your S2000.

who prefers what?

Old 01-25-2007, 01:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default who prefers what?

hi all- i am new to the s2000 world...just picked mine upo last week and am ready to start working on it. just checking in to see favorite p[arts people have used from intakes to exhausts to as far as surperchargers ot a turbo. aem or comtech intake? need to start somewhere-where should i start and with what?!?!?!?!? thanks all!!!!
Old 01-25-2007, 06:09 PM

Received 8 Likes on 3 Posts

As far as intakes go, either the AEM V2 or the K&N seem to be the best performers. Personally, I would recommend a short ram intake with a duct to the front grill. The cold air intake doesn't give as much HP as a short ram because the air has a much longer distance to travel. The short ram/intake duct combination gives you fresh cold air, which has a shorter duration to travel. Exhaust wise, if you're looking for a good amount of power, you're probably going to spend over $1,000. A better way to go is a custom exhaust if you have a shop around you that knows what they're doing. 70mm (a little over 2 3/4") seems to be the best for NA cars horsepower wise. If you know you want a forced induction setup, a 3" exhaust is the way to go. Headers and a test pipe will also give you a lot more power. Another good addition is a bored out throttle body and port matched intake manifold. There are way too many turbo setups out there to list. The lovefab kit is a great way to go, because it gives you all the parts you need. On the supercharger side of things, most people seem to be running a Vortech setup. My buddy has a bored, stroked, Vortech supercharged, and Nitrous'd S2K that makes well over 500whp. Hope this helps.
Old 01-25-2007, 06:57 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

^covered the bases quite well

Cold air intakes range in price and effectivness, but people tend to like the Comptech, AEM V2, and K&N FIPK's the best.