Old 10-02-2008, 07:57 PM

Received 24 Likes on 18 Posts

YES!
Old 10-03-2008, 07:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Who? What? When? Where?
Old 10-03-2008, 01:50 PM

Biden did a better job explaining his ticket's agenda than Obama did in last Friday's debate. Biden hit it out of the ball park.

As a lawyer, I view the debates much as I would view an appellate argument or a jury summation. Palin did all that she could to get herself out of the downward spiral she created for herself after the Couric interviews. Even a number of conservatives were critical of her before the debate. There was a lot riding on her performance. What she did in the debate was to recite several canned lines whenever she answered a question--if she even bothered to answer a question. Overall, given her limitations she did as well as could be expected.

There was one time during the debate, however, when Palin got off topic. It had to do with the question relating to the power of the Vice President. The answer she gave was totally unscripted and therefore represented the clearest insight into her thought process. Unfortunately for her, she got it entirely wrong. The responsibilities of the office of the Vice President are spelled out in Article I of the Constitution, not in Article II. The Vice President's role in breaking ties is no more a legislative role than is the President's role in deciding to veto a bill. Her answer about the Founding Father's having the wisdom to create an expansive role for the Vice President was pure gibberish.

She looked like a kid trying to bluff her way through an oral book report on a book she hadn't read.

Biden postively body-slammed Palin when he corrected her on her mistake--and note that she never attempted to rebut his counter.