Photography and Videography Tips, techniques and equipment for taking great photographs and videos. Come here for advice and critique on your photos and videos. To show off your S2000 go to The Gallery

Lenses

Old 02-10-2010, 11:09 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Lenses

I am looking to purchase my next lens. I have a Nikon D90. I am an amateur or more like a hobbyist and have been shooting for 2 years. I like both portrait and landscape photography along with shooting cars.The lenses I have owned before were the 18-55mm (D40 kit) lens and 55-200 F/4.5-5.6 VR lens.

The lenses I have now:
Nikkor 50mm AF-S F/1.4 & some old school crappy 28-80mm that came on an old N80

My budget is $1500 at the most (due to one particular lens I want).

****EDITED LIST****
My lens choices in order of want I want the most (used approx prices):
- Nikkor 14-24mm F/2.8 ~ $1500 (out of budget )
. . . - I will opt for the Tokina 11-16mm ~$500
- Nikon 12-24mm f/4G ~ $1000
. . . - or the affordable Tokina 12-24 f4 DX ~ $400
- Nikkor 24-70mm F/2.8 ~ $1400
. . . - Is the Sigma equivalent decent? ~ $400
- Nikkor 10-24mm
. . . - or its cheaper equivalent, Tamron 10-24mm ~ $300
- Nikkor 18-200 VR ~ $600
- Nikkor 18-55 VR ~ $170

I threw in the 18-200 for practicality as an all around lens. What do you guys think?

Cheers,
Matthew
Old 02-10-2010, 11:24 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by NightRider,Feb 10 2010, 03:09 PM
I want a wide angle telephoto lens.
17-55 DX for your wide angle zoom

then hunt down a 105 1.8 or 2.5 Ai-S with whatever money you have left in your budget.

That'll cover your wide zoom and fast lens + a portraiture lens
Old 02-10-2010, 11:29 AM

Originally Posted by Borbor,Feb 10 2010, 01:24 PM
17-55 DX for your wide angle zoom

then hunt down a 105 1.8 or 2.5 Ai-S with whatever money you have left in your budget.

That'll cover your wide zoom and fast lens + a portraiture lens