Photography and Videography Tips, techniques and equipment for taking great photographs and videos. Come here for advice and critique on your photos and videos. To show off your S2000 go to The Gallery

What is RAW?

Old 11-27-2006, 03:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is RAW?

I have been reading a lot on line and I am trying to figure out the difference between shooting in RAW or Jpeg fine. Can anyone help the total newb out? Thanks a lot.
Old 11-27-2006, 03:58 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm sure someone will post a serious linkie but I'll give it a go.

RAW is the data directly from your sensor. It includes more information than JPEG format can contain. Once you convert or capture to JPEG you lose the ability to do some things that RAW data can do easily. Most RAW formats are uncompressed (larger than JPEG) though some Nikon NEF's are a compressed RAW form (still larger file size than JPEG).

JPEG is a "lossy" format and that means that not every pixel is kept as-captured in your file. Using the "Fine" setting means you probably will not notice this in most uses. But to see what is going on, try shooting in the worst (smallest file size) JPEG your camera offers. You should see some blocky "artifacts" using that setting.

Even if you use a non-lossy format like TIFF, RAW can still do some tricks that are hard to do in any other format. What tricks? One is super-easy white balance adjustment AFTER you take the picture. Another is at least a full "stop" of exposure adjustment (brighter or darker) with picture-perfect results (as good as changing the exposure before taking a JPEG).
Old 11-27-2006, 06:44 PM
Muz
Former Sponsor

I also like the fact that RAW provides for non-destructive editing.
Old 11-27-2006, 07:27 PM