S2000 Engine Management Engine management topics, map and advice.

Hondata Basic Tune Questions

Old 08-22-2016, 12:11 PM

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Hondata Basic Tune Questions

Hello,

I just got a Hondata Flashpro I started playing with it but I am reserved since this is my first time, as I do not want to blow my engine or create any damage. I have a few initial questions. Please reserve the just sent it out for an Etune or go get dyno tuned comments. I am actually trying to understand what the heck is going on first.

Power Mods:
K&N FPIK Intake
Invidia Q300 Dual Exhuast
Test Pipe

Questions

1. What does the "Tuned" calibration do, what changes does it make?

Im assuming it works just like the Hondata mail in refresh am I correct in this assumption.
"VTEC point decreased from 6000 rpm to 5600 rpm
VTEC window from 5600 to 6400 rpm.
Rev limit 8500 rpm
Maximum torque gain 14 ft/lbs torque at 5800 rpm
Maximum power gain 16 hp at 5800 rpm"

2. With the current power mods is it safe to run the "tuned" calibration already on the hondata?

I see the Hondata website states that the reflash is safe to run with an intake and exhaust. If I am assuming right the "Tuned" calibration will be my best bet.

3. When Hondata developed the tuned calibration what mods were used when it was created?

4. I've been reading the Toda Header was developed using a header, test pipe, and catback exhaust. Is this tune safe to run with my current power mods, should I avoid since Im running stock headers.

Thanks Guys
Old 08-23-2016, 01:23 PM

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

anything?
Old 08-23-2016, 06:05 PM

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

1.) Can't remember all of the top of my head, but what you could do is view and compare both the "stock" and "tuned" files side by side using two windows.

2.) I think you need a wideband installed and properly operating before I suggest running those maps. Once you do have a wideband, then you can see how your fuel is. Also, watch knock.