S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

J's Racing 60RS exhaust - full review

Old 06-14-2016, 12:19 PM

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Default J's Racing 60RS exhaust - full review

I recently purchased a J's Racing 60RS stainless steel single cat-back exhaust for my AP1 and want to give you the full info on this piece!

I searched around quite a bit and ended up finding the best price from vividracing. Total was $960 shipped to my doorstep. Comes with a silencer and a gasket for the surface that connects to the cat. Pretty simple exhaust and looks to be put together nicely. The muffler has a lightly brushed texture and the dark blue/purple burnt look. And of course the iconic dolphin tip that curves downward. The exhaust weighs only 16lbs vs the stock exhaust weight of 51lbs. i'm not good at math but i'm pretty sure that's weight savings equivalent to a standard poodle.

Install is pretty straight forward. Just three nuts on the back end of the stock cat and I reused three of the stock rubber exhaust hangers to suspend the exhaust. The fitment, however, is not perfect. The clearance on the rear subframe was extremely tight. So much that the piping rattles against it on start up and under acceleration. I had to adjust things the best I could in order to get about 1/2" off clearance from the rear subframe which was enough to eliminate any rattles. The other thing I don't like is that the exhaust hangs a little low at the exit for my taste. I would like it to tuck up under the bumper a little more.

Does it make hella gainzzz?! Eh, who knows. Didn't have the car dynoed before/after and my butt dyno isn't registering much. I mean the car is a little bit lighter and there might be a small gain, but if you are buying a cat-back exhaust for gains then you are probably barking up the wrong tree. I bought it for sound and looks.