S2000 Naturally Aspirated Forum Discussions about N/A motor projects, builds and technology.

Building a new motor

Old 06-14-2012, 03:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building a new motor

Hey guys. About 8 months ago, I spun a rod bearing in my 01 S2000. I pulled the motor and transmission out of the car, but without having enough money or time to fix it, the car has just sat in my garage for the last 8 months as a rolling chassis. I've saved some money, and I feel like it's time to get my baby back to the way she is supposed to be.

I would really like to go Forced Induction, but being a college student, I don't have nearly enough to build a motor and go FI. So my question is, assuming I'm going to stay N/A, what would be my best options for building a motor?

I'm not looking for killer hp numbers, but I would definitely like some more torque. Without a longer stroke, I don't know if it's possible. I've got about $3300 to play with in building a motor. With that said, I understand that isn't a lot of money when wanting to go with forged internals.

What brands have you guys have good luck with for:
-Rods
-Pistons
-Rod Bearings
-Main Bearings
-Head studs
-Main studs

Should I go with an aftermarket crank, or have mine machined and leave it alone? I've heard that cams do not do a lot for the F20C being N/A. Is this right?

OR, should I put a stock motor back in it and be done with it? I REALLY want some more torque, but money wise, I thought that buying a used motor would be comparable to rebuilding my bottom end with forged internals. I've been reading up a little more on the F22 swap as well. It should be a direct bolt in, shouldn't it? The F22 would give me slightly more torque, while keeping the 240hp, and with the 00-01 ECU, would allow me to safely rev to 8600.

What do you guys think? Any and all information is appreciated!

Thanks a lot!
Old 06-14-2012, 03:13 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts