S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

1st AutoX in S2K

Old 07-17-2001, 08:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st AutoX in S2K

I just got the results from my first autoX in my 6 week old S2K. WHAT A FUN CAR!

First, a quick introduction since I'm also new to this forum: I just replaced my beloved '87 Carrera with a 2001 Spa Yellow S2K. I've been autocrossing for almost 10 years, the last 5 in the Porsche.

I haven't been so nervous as I was Sunday in a long time, mainly because I didn't know what to expect out of the car, and also the fear of damaging something since I only have 1000 miles on it. The car performed better than I expected, even though I'm used to the higher grip of the Kumhos on the Porsche and the S2K is still on the S02's.

I run in a small club that usually only has 30 drivers. Consequently, we only have a few classes: Over/Under 3.0L and Street/Race tires. I now run in the Under 3.0L/Sreet tire class. I am proud to say that I won the class, barely. In addition, I beat two NSX's and a new Z06 Corvette! The driver of the Corvette is a very experienced driver, but is only on his 3rd autocross with the car. I don't expect I'll be beating him for very long. I believe that the fact that I beat the Z06 says a lot about how easy the S2K is to drive.

My impressions of the car:

1. The car pushed much more than I expected, especially in the tightest corners. This could just be me overdriving the street tires and being too agressive.

2. The back end stepped out a couple of times under power, but very catchable. (Remember: I'm used to a tail heavy 911!) It did step sideways as I tried to take a sweeper flat out at around 7500 in 2nd! THAT GOT MY ATTENTION!

3. I left the car in 2nd for the whole run, and it did bog pretty good a couple of places, but not as bad as I feared. I'll leave first gear until I get a few more miles on it.