S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Can or does caster affect steering feel?

Old 07-06-2006, 04:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can or does caster affect steering feel?

Curious on this one. Can the caster affect the feel of the steering? Can too much caster affect anything negatively?
Old 07-06-2006, 04:34 PM
lig
Community Organizer

Received 31 Likes on 15 Posts

I had my tech dial in more caster because it gives me a "heavier" feel to the steering. I ended up sacrificing some camber though to get the caster.

Next time I'm going to give up a bit of caster and go for -2.00 camber instead.

I've come to terms with the fact that the S2000 just doesn't have a very "lively" steering feel. It is very precise though.

I'm not an expert but AFAIK the only thing you give up by dialing in a lot of caster is possibly lower max negative camber.
Old 07-06-2006, 04:40 PM

Caster most definately affects steering feel. An overly simplified example is a chopper vs a sport bike. A chopper with the front wheel 3 feet in front of the bars is going to turn much more lazy than a sportbike with the front wheel 6 inches in front of the bar. The chopper however would be pretty stable in a straight line (not that a sportbike isn't but you get the idea) More caster typically will give a more solid but slower feel...less caster will be quicker but twitchy. Once again this is overly simplified but it's a good visual.
Old 07-06-2006, 04:54 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

More caster does minimize how much static camber you can dial but the more caster you dial in the more camber it adds when you turn the wheel.

IIRC 6 degrees caster = 1.5 degrees more camber when the wheel is turned all the way.