S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Jacking up the S

Old 06-16-2004, 12:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jacking up the S

This may be a really dumb question, but I'm gonna ask anyway... Using just the jack that came with the car, is it possible to change more than 1 wheel at once? The reason I ask is because I'm getting ready to do the caliper paint thing and I'm wondering whether it'll be possible to do more than one caliper at a time.

Please don't shoot me! I'm just a newbie, remember!

Dean
Old 06-16-2004, 12:48 PM

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

Okay Mr Newbie ,

I do brake caliper painting (check my sig line), so I know from experience......trust me.

Here's what you do:

Get yourself four jack stands. They are inexpensive and will save your arse alot of trouble, and from killing yourself.

Use the front jacking point. Since the car is sooooo stiff, it will pick up both wheels at the same time. Slide a jackstand under the frame rails for support. The frame rails are toward the middle of the car, compared to the jacking points which are on the perimeter. I'll try to find a diagram to eliminate confusion.

Anyway, jack stand under the front and rear on one side........lower onto stands.

Walk around to the other side and repeat. Now you can use the jack easily without trying to squeeze the jack and stand together on the same perimeter jacking point. Make sense, or confuse?
Old 06-16-2004, 01:05 PM

I just use to normal jack point and use the jackstand. Don't ever use scissor jack to raise your car for to long I seen them break before when my friend was working on his own car.
Old 06-16-2004, 01:15 PM

Consider buying one of these floor jacks from Harbor Freight, and don't bother with the scissor jack. $139.00 is not too expensive, and it's good quality. Fits under the car with no ramps required.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Disp...itemnumber=3941