S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Learning to drive . . .

Old 07-07-2005, 08:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Learning to drive . . .

I've been driving for 10 years, but only on automatic. My wife and I recently purchased an s2k and love it! It's going to be her daily driver (she's been driving manual for 10+ years).

She's taught me the basics, but does anyone have any tips for long time drivers, first time manuals?
Old 07-07-2005, 08:33 PM
Former Moderator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Here is the PROPER WAY to learn a manual car....

1) Go into a FLAT (no hills) parkinglot or some kind of open space...
2)Put the car into N and take a deep breath.
3)Push the clutch in, and slide the sniper rifle shifter into 1st gear.
4)WITHOUT USING THE GAS PEDAL....ever so slowly begin to release the clutch... you will feel the car crawling. Slowly take your foot off the pedal, until it is completely off. This is the most important aspect of learning a manual car. This will give you a feel for the clutch, and you will be able to perform more accurate shifts, since you know where the clutch begins to grab.

5)After you got the top steps DOWN COLD, after step 4, give it some gas and get about 12mph.....push clutch in, slide into 2nd gear, and let clutch out (dont pop it, just slowly---faster than in the first 4 steps)...if you feel the car jump, you did it too fast. IF you hear your car rev and its not going anywhere, you did it too slow.

After you master these steps, you will be able to drive the car no problems. Pulling a 9000rpm shift however, is just practice, so wait until you are confident, and slowly build up your skills, 5000rpm, 6000rpm, etc.

Good luck!
Old 07-07-2005, 08:54 PM

Originally Posted by ruiner,Jul 7 2005, 08:23 PM
I've been driving for 10 years, but only on automatic. My wife and I recently purchased an s2k and love it! It's going to be her daily driver (she's been driving manual for 10+ years).