S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Lease ends on the 28th

Old 06-20-2008, 11:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lease ends on the 28th

I'm 100% buying this car. Its an '05 with 10,800 miles, I'd be stupid to give it back. Here is my question though: Ever since I took delivery of the car, the rear bumper where it meets the rear passenger fender is not a flush fit. There is also some paint missing right where they meet. You do kind of have to look close to see it, but its definitely there. You can see about 1mm of the black where there isn't any paint. I know 04's and 05's had problems with this bumper fitting correctly. Well, I took it back to them a week after having it and they tried to make the bumper flush again. Basically it didn't work and I've been driving it like this for 3 years. Do you think they would cover this under warranty and repaint my rear bumper? Its not a big problem, but I would like it fixed before my lease ends. Has anyone else had this problem and did you get it fixed? Or am I SOL?
Old 06-20-2008, 12:21 PM

I noticed that gap on my 06 shortly after I got it and thought something was messed up. But then at a local meet I looked at every one else's and they have the exact same gap. It doesn't look like it should be there, but they were all like that.
Old 06-20-2008, 12:26 PM

ya there was that bumper problem from 05-07
Old 06-20-2008, 01:06 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I believe there is a bumper problem throughout all the years if I recall correctly. I know my 02 has that gap and I remember seeing earlier models had the same issue, too. I actually thought they fixed this for the later models until I started reading more and more issues like this. I wonder if the MY08s have the same problem still.

Oh, as far as them repainting it under warranty, it doesn't hurt to ask. Got nothing to lose really.
Old 06-20-2008, 01:07 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts