S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

My First Hydroplaned This Afternoon

Old 02-06-2009, 07:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My First Hydroplaned This Afternoon

so I have been driving for about 3 years now. I never claim im a great driver, and i don't speed. I had an e36 325is M_Tech before my S which i sold 4 month ago. anyway i was driving to the mall in pleasanton this afternoon and it started raining again...

as i got near the mall i took a tight corner doing 10-14 mph aprx. next thing you know, the car started lashing around and fish tailing like nothing else. i kept turning the wheel side to side, and it kept playing with me...it took me 4 tries to bring it to halt, i was so close to hiting one of the curbs, for a second i thought "this is it, im going to hit something"...

luckly nothing was behind me, i stoped the car in middle of the road. my heart was pounding like nothing else, not that i was scared of my life. i was just scared of hitting my beloved S (love the car to bits)... the over all experience was scary and fun at the same time and it gave me a second thought.
it happend so quick that i don't know what i did. but i was fortunate that nothing happend.

I was wondering are there any places in BayArea that have tracks for simulating and practicing Hydroplane and similar stuff...??!!?
Old 02-06-2009, 07:07 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

fun times around every corner...
Old 02-06-2009, 07:49 PM

hows your tires?
Old 02-06-2009, 08:05 PM

Originally Posted by gospeedgo1,Feb 6 2009, 08:49 PM
hows your tires?
they are not bad...they have around 65% thread left. i think they are not all season.
i have to check them out.
Old 02-06-2009, 09:00 PM

hm that's weird. i have summer tires on my car and i never felt any slippage in the rain. glad you and ur car's safe though.
Old 02-06-2009, 09:05 PM