S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Pre-Purchase Questions: Run Costs, 2000 AP1 Issues, and PPIs

Old 03-03-2015, 05:20 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Pre-Purchase Questions: Run Costs, 2000 AP1 Issues, and PPIs

Hey guys. First post here. I’ve been considering picking up an S2000 for a few years now and might finally pull the trigger soon. I have a few random questions if y’all don’t mind. I tried to search but didn’t turn up exactly what I was looking for.

Background info: I’m looking at an AP1 with between 30 and 65k miles. It’d be a fair weather dd and run 3-4 track days per year. I’ll put 5-6k miles on per year tops.

1. Roughly, what are you paying annually (maintenance and repairs only) to drive your cars? I know it’s a Honda, but Edmunds recorded annual maintenance
between 700 and 1900 and annual repairs between 300 and 600 since new. Those numbers shocked me. What are you paying?

2. Are early AP1s (year 2000 specifically) less desirable when trying to sell? There seems to be more 2000s for sale, and I just want to make sure I won’t have difficulty selling down the road.

3. Any reason not to go with a year 2000? From what I gather, it’d be nice if the top was upgraded to glass and clutch buzz can be an issue, but there’s not much else inherently wrong with them.

4. I know that some have had issues replacing retainers when they buy a used S, which has presumably been over revved. Has anyone checked this during a PPI?

5. Are Honda dealers decent places for PPIs? I’d be buying from a warm state, so I would have no personal experience with the dealer.
Old 03-03-2015, 06:08 PM

Received 340 Likes on 277 Posts

Originally Posted by bluejk09
Hey guys. First post here. I’ve been considering picking up an S2000 for a few years now and might finally pull the trigger soon. I have a few random questions if y’all don’t mind. I tried to search but didn’t turn up exactly what I was looking for.