S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Should I purchase a S2000?

Old 02-15-2001, 04:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi Guys, I am new to this board. I need some advices and wonder if anyone can help.

I am thinking if i should purchase a S2000. I've never test drive it nor test ride it. But i've read several excellent reveiws and seems like the S2000 is a good buy.

So, let me introduce myself. I am a 22 yrs old engineer who enjoying modifying cars. Now, i own a Nissan 200sx se-r and have several modification on it and have been to several tracks couple times. I live in southern california, so a convertible may be a good choice. I drive about 85miles(roundtrip) to work every day with my se-r with STIFF suspension, mostly stop-n-go freeway traffic. I do not concern about the ride since i think the S2000 should have a better ride than my current car. The followings are my concerns:

1) is the clutch light? i heard that sport car has a stiff clutch. is it drivable in stop-n-go traffic without massaging my left leg every night?

2) will the plastic rear window turn yellowish in like a year? how to avoid this from happening?

3) I saw that the cup holder is next to the handbrake, if there's a Large cup in the cup holder, does it block my right arm when shifting?

4) is the S2000 capable for daily driving in my situation?

5) Is lease a better choice or finance a better choice? I am sure that i'll exceed the limited mileage for sure if I lease a car. I am guessing i'll put about 25-30K miles per year on the S2000. But if i finance it, it'll worth less if i have 60k miles on it for 2yrs.....

6) Is the insurance very high for a 2 dr, convertible, sport car?? how much should I expect roughly?

7) Do i need a bigger roll bar for track events? or is the stock roll bar good enough for most track events?

Thanks.
Old 02-15-2001, 04:39 PM

hey man.