S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Swapped cv buckets, still shakes!!

Old 12-02-2019, 07:20 AM

Received 69 Likes on 54 Posts
Default Swapped cv buckets, still shakes!!

I did the cv bucket swap and my cars vibration didn’t change. One of the buckets had one wear/pitting spot on on face of the bucket. Oddly, the other 2 contact points in the cv bucket were smooth. Also, the other bucket had no signs of wear. The “worn” bucket face is oriented so the bearing will only contact it on deceleration.
Any ideas on what else could be the issue. The shudder seems to be the most pronounced in fourth and fifth.
Old 12-02-2019, 07:40 AM

Received 49 Likes on 44 Posts

is it a shudder during acceleration or when cruising?

I'm no mechanic but maybe its either your diff mounts or your motor mounts? I could be totally wrong though.
Old 12-02-2019, 07:47 AM

Thanks for the reply. Shakes only on above medium acceleration. Symptoms are identical to worn cv cups. The 6 cv cup bearing seemed fine as well. Perhaps there is wear I cannot see or fee.

Last edited by turbojonn; 12-02-2019 at 08:31 AM.
Old 12-02-2019, 08:35 AM

Received 139 Likes on 114 Posts

I just recently did the CV swap but have not had to drive the car yet since the car is in winter storage. One of my concerns AFTER doing the swap, and having the chance to look at everything, was the fact that the halfshaft axles are balanced units. Doing the CV swap, you are essentially ruining the balancing of the halfshaft. Especially with pitting on one CV joint, the balance is of course thrown off. You may get it right, you may not.

With how short the axle radius is, especially in comparison to a wheel, I don't think most people should notice anything and I'm not saying this is the case for you either. I believe the yokes are the next culprits to look at, but just something to keep in consideration as you move on down the checklist.
Old 12-02-2019, 09:33 AM