S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Too dangerous for first car?

Old 08-07-2017, 12:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Too dangerous for first car?

i am a new driver and I can handle a car well... I am in love with s2k's and I am dying to get one, I've done research and a lot of people have been saying how dangerous they are, and how easy it is to crash. Although I am young, I am a responsible driver, and I know bad things can happen with any car, but is the s2000 known for bieng abnormally dangerous and why?
Old 08-07-2017, 02:13 AM

Received 322 Likes on 273 Posts

It's not the car, it's the driver. I'd say it is safer than a motorcycle. Good luck getting one to your liking and hopefully you have it a long time.
Levi
Old 08-07-2017, 03:55 AM

Received 1,129 Likes on 992 Posts

New, I assume teenage, driver? Old sports car?

These cars are not dangerous but they handle differently than "normal" cars which in your lifetime have been front-wheel drive.

Few of us are accomplished drivers -- we certainly think we are but we're not 'cuz 99% of our supposed skills are self taught. Go into a curve like a round-about or on/off ramp too fast and instinctively lift the throttle and rear wheel drive cars want to swap ends. It's not the car it's the driver. Honda modified these car every two years to help curb this natural RWD over-steer but it's still present. The 2006 and later cars have Vehicle Stability Assist but Honda stopped short of calling it Stability Control. It can be turned off if you want to slide corners.

Two seat open cars make horrible daily drivers and they're open to every thief with the master key (called a box cutter). Then there's the questions of who's gonna pay for the car and insurance. Some like me are slow learners and I owned a two seat roadster before I was 21 but it lacked the power of the S2000. I owned another one in my 20s and a third one in my 30s.