S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

What audio system do you have in your S2K? Why?

Old 12-25-2002, 05:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What audio system do you have in your S2K? Why?

I've had my S2K for 2 months now. It's tough to hear the stock radio when the tops down at 70+ mph.

1) What upgrade systems have you guys been putting into your cars? (please mention price)

2) How do I choose a system?

3) Are all sound systems compatible with the physical dimensions of the S2K and how can I determine of a system is compatible? (I have very little knowledge in this area)

Thanks for your help!
Old 12-25-2002, 06:12 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

check my sig. lucid audio (see marketplace and site sponsors on home page) is a good place to start. his kenwood rear speakers add a lot of sound. there is also a great deal of info.

you need to figure out how far youwant to take this. i just wanted a bit more sound (i added 30 watts per channel) and better speakers. some have suggested that instead of adding a new thief tempting head unit that a well hidden amplifier tied to the oem head unit is a better alternative. it also gaurantees that your dashboard controls will continue to work.

there are plenty of threads on this board that show selection and installation processes that should also help. many have taken the upgrades much farther than mine and add even more amplification as well as subwoofers. check the search function for more info.

good luck, have fun and don't go broke. you will be amazed at how much you can spend on this.
Old 12-25-2002, 10:21 AM

Thanks for writing. I am leaning toward the well hidden amp, or adding rear speakers to solve my slight "not enough sound" problem.

1) Can a new head unit can improve sound volume and quality

2) What does the head unit do for your speakers?

3) What if I want to keep the stock head unit?

Thanks all for replying
Old 12-25-2002, 10:27 AM