S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Hard start cold or hot.

Old 07-30-2017, 10:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hard start cold or hot.

Hello all, my names is Sada and I'm new to the s2000 world. I picked up a 2002 ap1 with 145,000 miles about 2 months ago. It was running strong with no problems and then out of no where it begins hard starting and rough idle after acceleration. I've been stalking all the threads I can and trying to research everything I can. I started with all the normal routine stuff so I replaced the spark plugs with the NGK Laser IRs, and the hard start continued. Then I replaced the coil packs with all new Denso coil packs and still had the hard start. Next I ran a compression test and all four cylinders came up in the 195 - 205 range so that all seems good to me. After doing more research I saw the MAP "Wack" and how to clean the MAP sensor and port that feeds air to it so I got some compressed air and sprayed them both out to clean and I cleaned the throttle body while I was at it. I also saw the ECU reset where you start the car up and rev it to 3,000 RPM till it reachs operating temp so I tried that and yet still, hard start. At this point I got a CEL so I was excited about being able to run the codes. It came up with random misfire codes and a cylinder 4 misfire code and I saw that could be caused by the valves being out of spec. I took it to the Honda dealer in my area (Spreen Honda) and told them about my situation and they told me they would do a diagnostic and let me know what's going on. They later called and said it would need a valve job and since I've never done one I told them to go ahead and handle that. When I went to pick my car up they explained to me how the valve job is all done but it's still hard starting and they believe it's the O2 sensors because they were getting bad readings from the upstream O2 sensor and the car is running rich, but they didn't have one to replace it with to