S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Nasty rattle from transmission. Please Help!

Old 08-27-2018, 03:21 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Exclamation Nasty rattle from transmission. Please Help!

Hello. I just bought a 2000 ap1 Grand Prix White S and the paso owner did not take good care at all.
From the beggining I knew it needed some work, by reading here and from talking to other people.
Today I notice, on my way to work, at a stop light a nasty, similar to a can full of nuts and bolts, rattle from the transmission. It only happens when the car is at idle and, on neutral and no clutch pressed. The rattle goes away as soon as I press the clutch.
I'm really asking for everyone's imput just because I'm new to the s2k game and I dont want to visit a mechanic and get taken by a fool.
Besides that, I'm loving every second with the car, every sqeeak and rattle too lol.

Thank you for your imput.
Sorry I dont post a vid, I really dont know how.
If you want to see it feel free to send me an email or text to:

jessiel.gonzalez@upr.edu

787-454-0830
Old 08-28-2018, 08:02 AM

Received 1,311 Likes on 991 Posts

That sounds like a bad clutch release bearing.

The fix is to drop the trans and replace it. But chances are if the repease bearing is bad, its because someone replaced it with an aftermarket part, which are all crap. But that means the rest of the clutch parts are also aftermarket crap. So if you are going through all the labor to remove trans, you should plan to replace it all.

ONLY USE OEM HONDA PARTS!!!

Clutch disk
Pressure plate
Release bearing
Release bearing guide
Pilot bearing
Honda urea grease

Do not use exedy 'oem' thinking its the same parts as what you get from Honda. The Exedy is total crap.