S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Shifting at high rpm's car doesnt pick up in gear

Old 06-22-2010, 05:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shifting at high rpm's car doesnt pick up in gear

Well Ive been driving for 17 years and racing for 13 of them so Im familure with clutch issues. I mean its pretty simple with all other high power cars when my cluth was going but for some reason the s2k feels different :S

Usually happens on hard 3rd to 4th or 4th to 5th 7500-9000rpm shifts. I shit and hammer the throttle but the car DOES NOT want to go it like, it will wait for a few seconds and then pick up. But I DO NOT see the rpm's shooting up like a normal clutch going issue. SO Im lost.

IT rips gard to redline in each gear when shifted normally, Peels second anytime if I want it to :S

What do you guys think this could be, car is 100% mech fine. I do take amazing care of it and baby it otherwise.

Car has 32000km's on it and has its oem 2001 clutch still?

thanks Ken
Old 06-22-2010, 08:16 AM

common guys
Old 06-22-2010, 08:22 AM

Received 196 Likes on 136 Posts

Sounds like the pressure plate to me - its slipping the clutch enough to keep power from going to the wheels, but grabbing enough to keep the rpm from sailing up. Odd that is it fine on a 1-2 or 2-3 shift where you'd expect to see that behavior.

Is everything factory original?
Old 06-22-2010, 08:49 AM

everything is oem, if it was the pressure plate it would stiull show the rpm's shooting up :S

I talked to my clutch guys that I have known since i was a kid and even he has no idea.

he says is almost sounds like the ecu is causing the car to retard timing of something weird along those lines which i havent heard of either.

Tranny is fine, no issues shifting all that ive had are 4.77 gears installed but that doesnt effect tranny.

yes 1-2 and 2-3 shifts are fine.

I will go beat on her and bring the cam and record it, see if it happens then :S
Old 06-22-2010, 08:52 AM