S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Transmission Concern

Old 04-12-2013, 11:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission Concern

2002 with 55k miles, purchased the car with 36k miles

I'm by no means a mechanic but I will do my best to describe my concerns:

Starting last winter, my transmission was a bit notchy going into 2nd gear. After doing research and asking around a bit, I attributed this to the common notchy gear problem in conjunction with the cold weather making things not work together as smoothly. The problem dissipated more the longer the car was actively driven and warming up, which seemed to support my theory.

Fast forward a little bit and the problem proceeded to 3rd gear. However, this happened in the dead middle of winter when it was at it's coldest, I attributed the problem to that.

Fast forward to now and the gear shifter notches on 2nd, 3rd, and 4th reliably and on occasion 5th. Going into 2nd gear, sometimes it just doesn't. That is the best way I can describe it. It is as if I moved the shifter into position but in actuality remained in neutral. The fix I've found for this problem is to put the gear shifter back into neutral and double clutch back into 2nd.

The longer I've owned the car, the less reliable the shifting has become. Granted, I learned to drive stick on this car and may just have an exaggerated memory of learning, but I feel like something is amiss.

A summary of my concerns:
Gear notches every time on 2nd, 3rd, and 4th
Gear notches occasionally on 5th
Gear shifter going into 2nd but has no reaction to pedal play. -The fix for this is to put the gear shifter into neutral and double clutch back into 2nd.
I have the feeling that the clutch grabs at a later time than it used to, but I may just be having a placebo effect from learning to drive stick on this car