S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   S2000 Under The Hood (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-under-hood-22/)
-   -   Are you adjusting valve clearances CORRECTLY? (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/s2000-under-hood-22/you-adjusting-valve-clearances-correctly-82493/)

Gernby 09-21-2002 11:30 AM

I have been adjusting my own valve for about 10 years, and I am embarrassed to say that I have been adjusting them WRONG on my S2000. The first car that I adjusted my own valve on was a NON-VTEC Acura Integra. The Helm's manual clearly shows that the valve clearance is measured between the cam lobe and the rocker arm. However, the Helm's manual for the S2000 clearly shows that the valve clearance is measured between the valve spring retainer and the adjuster screw. I did not notice this difference until today. Unfortunately, I did perform a valve adjustment about 6K miles ago, and I found that the factory valve clearances were "WAY OUT OF SPEC!". I was WAY WRONG, since I was measuring the clearances between the WRONG PARTS.

I consider this to be one of those "Good News and Bad News" situations, since a recent dyno plot (after the bad valve adjustment) shows that I had a particularly weak low end, while still having a decent high end. The valve clearance problem explains this, since the percentage of valve lift reduction is greatest when I am in the low RPM range. It also explains why my valve train was so noisy after the adjustment.

Basically, the difference between measuring the clearance at the cam lobe versus the adjuster screw looks like it is about .003". So basically, when I THOUGHT I was setting the clearance at .008" (intake), I was really setting it to .011". With the intake valve clearance set correctly at .008", the clearance between the cam lobe and roller rocker is now .005".

Am I the only dumb ass here, or have any of you also made this mistake?

Uncle Fester 09-21-2002 01:15 PM