S2000 Vintage Owners Knowledge, age and life experiences represent the members of the Vintage Owners

Entertainment costs and subscriptions

Old 08-13-2013, 11:34 AM

Received 106 Likes on 78 Posts
Default Entertainment costs and subscriptions

Talking around the lunch table today, it struck me that my "exorbitant" entertainment budget pales in comparrison to some of my colleagues. It may be a generational thing. I have a cable tv subscription that includes most of the premium channels and on-demand as well as Verizon Fios for internet. I have a data connection on my phone, but that is for work and if I didn't need it for work, I'm not sure I would keep it. But that's about all I have. My colleagues all have things like Netflix subscriptions, Sirrius radio, iTunes accounts, Kindles/Nooks, TiVos, and who knows what else. They all cost money. My reaction is, I don't even have enough time to see all the content I currently have access to. Why do i need more? One of my partners says he has it all becuase he doesn't want to fall behind the times like his parents have. I don't know about anyone else, but I ain't buying anything just becuase all the kids have it.

Then, of course, there are all the apps for the smart phone devices. but I guess that is another subject.

So what do you have? Is it all worth it?
Old 08-13-2013, 12:10 PM

Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts

I don't pay for subscriptions to electronic entertainment, unless you count donations to NPR and PBS. I'm not home enough to justify cable or satellite service, but I do pay for subscriptions like symphony concerts, brass bands, and live theater and Broadway shows, along with the occasional movie out or other concert. I also go dancing a lot (see my screen name), but that could also fall under the health and fitness budget/entertainment combo.
Old 08-13-2013, 12:23 PM

Received 322 Likes on 273 Posts