Texas - North Texas S2000 Owners North Texas S2000 Owners Club
North Texas Club

How do you know when it's time to change careers?

Old 03-13-2008, 01:11 PM

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts
Default How do you know when it's time to change careers?

How do you know when it's time to change careers? Not just get a new job at a different company, but change careers altogether?

I'm a Windows server administrator, and I'm beginning to question that.

The company I worked for was purchased by another one a couple years ago. While still being an IT guy in general, the details of the day-to-day job are quite different, as well as the people I work for/with. I really enjoyed my job and co-workers before this, but I'm totally burnt out on my job now. And when I scan the want-ads for server administrator jobs in Dallas all I can think of is "Why would this new job be any better than what I have now?"

Part of me really wants a career change, I'm just tired of supporting other peoples' server problems. But all my interests either cost money (like cars), just don't pay much (like work at a ski resort), or I have no talent for despite my interest (like photography.) Or it would require some formal schooling that's hard to support with a mortgage or such (like computer or mechanical engineering.)

I read news stories now and then about people who quit their high-paying, high stress jobs to travel the world on a bicycle, or open up a shop in the country selling something-or-other that they love. I just

Anybody else here gone through a mid-life career change? How did you go about it, and are you a happier person now?

Thanks for reading my rant.
Old 03-13-2008, 01:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Dude,

I have been in computer field for 7 years, moved from one platform to another, from one technology to another. I may be able to help you out or give you some good advice, but it is tough doing here. If you are coming to any event soon then we can talk about it?