UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Brake discs need replaced?

Old 04-04-2006, 02:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake discs need replaced?

Hi all,
looking for some advice. Our S2000 was booked in for service and MOT (3 years old) and the technician has advised before the MOT that it would fail because of the rear brake discs and pads.
The car isn't used much and the discs get a film of rust quite often, however, its only done around 7500 miles since new - never been driven very hard either. I'd normally expect a set of discs to last a lot longer than this? and am a bit worried that the dealer is trying to con us.
The pads too have about 8mm left.

I know it depends on driving style but roughly how long should these last?

I asked their "service desk" who said that "3 years out of one set is very good going" - I'm no brake expert but I can't see how age and wear are closely related.

They want
Old 04-04-2006, 03:04 AM

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Take it to a Tyre place for a free brake test and get a second opinion.
Old 04-04-2006, 03:08 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would have to ask the "technician " on what grounds they would fail the MOT

8mm left on the pads , .
The disks shouldnt be worn .

Must be something else , but i cant think what
Old 04-04-2006, 03:10 AM

Received 58 Likes on 56 Posts

I doubt the rear pads have much more than 8mm when in the box! They are much thinner than the fronts.

There is a faint whiff of :bullshit:
Old 04-04-2006, 03:12 AM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts