UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

Every Day In Every Way! I still can't believe it?

Old 08-27-2004, 02:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Every Day In Every Way! I still can't believe it?

When I decided on an S2000, for me the most expensive car I've ever owned, I thought what a smart looking car. Very much capturing for me many of the classic lines and attributes of the great looking sports cars like the Austin Healy, the MG and others. Don't start on me as I'm not an expert but have always enjoyed "nice" cars many I could never dream of owning.
Then I found its performance and range and I was fixed, nothing came close.

What I'm now astonished by is what other people think. I first thought I'd get sh!t from many as the car is a bit flash?
But just what is it about this car?
When ever I get in the car if it's not raining the roofs down. Driving around and all I get from kids on bikes, men in suits "Nice car Mister", "Very nice car", "Wow, lovely wheels mate".

Tonight finished real late, as I'm on holiday from Monday, so although I need fuel didn't want to fill her up and leave her standing for 2 weeks fully fuelled so I thought stick 20 litres in and then grab a bite to eat and get home.
Nipped into the Shell station, roof down of course, pulled in just after a Black MR2 looking all shiny the way black does. My cars covered in cack and not looking her best. We pull to different pumps and fuel up.
Young lad comes walking through the garage, "Nice car mate" to me. Thanks I like it too.
So we finish fuelling the MR2 just before me and he heads off to the cashier, I'm close enough behind to hear everything said. Nothing, other than thanks, by.

We're the only 2 cars in the petrol station. I get up and hand me cards over, guy behind the counter "Nice car, what is it?"

what's going on?