UK & Ireland S2000 Community Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it in the UK and Ireland. Including FAQs, and technical questions.

How does this look?

Old 08-25-2021, 11:51 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How does this look?

Hey guys just about to pull the trigger on my first S2000 ( and my first used car for nearly 20 years) so trying to do as much due diligence as I can.

Ive found a 40k ish mileage example that has been garaged for the last 5 years or so, everything checks out condition wise from photos ( it a reputable dealer) they have not objected to a PPI and have sent me any photos I have asked for.

But underneath i dont really know what im looking for if im honest. They sent a bunch across and it all looks pretty solid to me , except for some rust on what looks a rear crossmember or possibly subframe ? Is this a concern or pretty normal?

Old 08-26-2021, 12:29 AM

Received 56 Likes on 50 Posts

I'm no expert but looks pretty solid to me! They're all a few years old now so I would suggest all UK cars wont look completely mint everywhere. Mine looked way worse when i got it treated underneath. I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will chip in soon with a more informed opinion!
Have you received pictures of the underside of the rear arches, or is there any evidence of bubbling on the outside? It's a known weak spot for corrosion.
The following users liked this post:
Groove (08-26-2021)
Old 08-26-2021, 12:56 AM

Originally Posted by mysteryjedi
I'm no expert but looks pretty solid to me! They're all a few years old now so I would suggest all UK cars wont look completely mint everywhere. Mine looked way worse when i got it treated underneath. I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will chip in soon with a more informed opinion!
Have you received pictures of the underside of the rear arches, or is there any evidence of bubbling on the outside? It's a known weak spot for corrosion.