S2KI Honda S2000 Forums

S2KI Honda S2000 Forums (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/)
-   Utah S2000 Owners (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/utah-s2000-owners-29/)
-   -   Considering a move to SLC! (https://www.s2ki.com/forums/utah-s2000-owners-29/considering-move-slc-456284/)

CourageOO7 01-23-2007 07:38 PM

Considering a move to SLC!

Hey guys, I'm a 28 year old Maryland (DC area) native considering a move to Salt Lake City to study in the JD/MBA program at the University of Utah. I've researched cost of living, housing, and various other statistics/demographics at www.city-data.com. However, there are questions that site can't answer.

1. I am not Mormon, but I enjoyed my previous stay in the city so much that I'm considering a permanent relocation. Are people and businesses welcoming to non-Mormon's?

2. I am concerned that I won't be able to find a job because of some ugly rumors I've heard out my way. I work in finance and I'm considering corporate law. I'd like to hear it from the horses mouth, so-to-speak. (I have a buddy who works at IBM who says the SLC branch discourages non-Mormons from relocating there)

3. While violent crime seems low, theft seems to be higher as compared similar cities around the country. Has this been the case for you?

4. How would I go about researching major companies in the city?

Thanks for any and all help you can provide. Should I be accepted to the program I will be flying out for a few days just to get a feel for the school and SLC life in general.

:hello:
Jorge

msm_s2k 01-23-2007 08:16 PM

Hi Jorge! Already gave you my take ... so I'll let others chime in.

You may also want to visit:
http://forums.evolutionm.net/showthr...88958&page=614
http://forums.utahscca.com/

... and ask the same question there. Those forums are more active than this one.

CourageOO7 01-23-2007 08:51 PM

Mike,

Thanks. I'll take a look. Can you offer any input on my questions above?
Anyone else care to chime?

Thanks,

J

Euclid 01-24-2007 09:23 AM