S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Throttle blip button for DBW S2000's?

Old 11-23-2010, 06:19 AM
Former Sponsor

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Throttle blip button for DBW S2000's?

I've been autocrossing and tracking my cars for 17 years, but I've never been able to heel-toe at all. Even if I'm sitting in my car while it's parked, I have a very hard time twisting my right foot in a way that I can coordinate the brake pedal and gas pedal.

Now that I have a DBW S2000 (and love it), I've been thinking about tapping into the DBW harness to connect a "throttle blip button". Basically, I would measure the amount of resistance that the throttle pedal has at ~20% throttle, then calculate what a parrallel resistor would need to be to deliver that through the button. I would probably mount the button on the back side of my steering wheel so that I can easily press it with my left hand without letting go of the wheel. I would also put a switch in the circuit so that the button would be disabled during daily driving.

Do you guys have any input on this? Do you think that a set throttle point will work, or do you think it would need to provide some sort of variable control?
Old 11-23-2010, 07:59 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The throttle blip part of a heel-toe isn't a precision movement by any means, so a set throttle point should work.

Having said that, have you really done everything you can to learn how to heel-toe? Even if you install a heel-toe button in your S2000, you're out of luck if you drive someone else's car.

Some people toe-heel, so to speak -- they blip the brake with their heel instead of their toe. Sounds awfully difficult to me, but if your ankle just won't bend in the direction required for traditional heel-toeing, it may be worth a shot.