Automotive builds Got an automotive build you want to want to document? Post it here!

Rush2Redline S2000 Autocross/Time Trial Build

Old 10-31-2020, 10:55 AM

Received 78 Likes on 62 Posts
Default Rush2Redline S2000 Autocross/Time Trial Build

Rush2Redline "Sanaki" Autocross / Track Build
Last edited: 11/05/2021

2004 Rio Yellow Pearl
Mileage: 110K (purchased at 97K)

Rush2Redline S2000 Autocross/Time Trial Build-qfqxkwvh.jpg

Rush2Redline S2000 Autocross/Time Trial Build-tfd1krqh.jpg

Reliability > Performance > Aesthetics > Comfort

"I decided to make a build thread to keep myself focused. The car's goal is to compete in SCCA STR and TT4 NASA."
When reality struck that I was a mediocre driver, I had to come to terms and I decided the risk of track time far outweighed the benefits and I decided to focus heavily on autocross driving and car control. I did do several track days this year though, and I felt I made adequate progress in reducing my lap times at a small benchmark track.

"I don't need to win per-say, but if I can be competitive with other S2K's on the field and keep the ND2 Miata's honest, I'll be happy." - R2R 2020
No, I couldn't realistically keep up with the good drivers in ND2's. It was hardly a competition. The ND2 is silly fast when built for autocross.

"I picked up my S2000 probably because I wanted to become a better driver."- R2R 2020
I do feel much more comfortable with the car and driving cars in general. My driving style has truly changed for the better and I'm more confident in any car in any situation.

"My other goal was to simply build a reliable badass track/project car." - R2R 2020
The S2000 has been far more reliable than my daily driver, a 2011 Subaru WRX STI. It often takes me to work and I've done several long road trips in it - albeit not the most comfortable.

Current Mods
Suspension:
- JRZ RS Pro 2-Way Adjustable Coilovers 800lbs Front / 600lbs&150lbs Rear
- Karcepts Swaybar Front
- Karcepts Swaybar Rear